Search New Zealand Immigration Guide

Custom Search

A glimpse of New Zealand and its Immigration Policy

Friday, March 27, 2009

New Zealand is an island nation lying in South Western Pacific made up of two main islands and a number of smaller islands. It's two main islands - the North Island and South Island - are separated by the 20 mile wide Cook Strait. It also includes the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau and the Ross Dependency.

Named Aotearoa by its indigenous Maori, New Zealand is considered the youngest country in the world because it was the last landmass to be discovered and populated only a thousand years ago.

New Zealand has a modern and developed economy which affords its generally satisfied citizens a high standard of living. With its population growing relatively low annually, its government adopted an open New Zealand (NZ) immigration policy.

Close to three-fourths of New Zealand's population are concentrated into 16 main urban areas. A great part of which resides in its four largest cities namely; Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington and Christchurch.

Immigration mainly takes place in these urban areas where there is low crime rate, low pollution and city amenities are at par with big international cities.Immigrants in the past are largely from Great Britain and The Netherlands but recently have been surpassed by Asians including Filipinos.

Related Posts by Categories

Widget by Hoctro | Jack Book


  © Blogger template Cumulus by 2008

Back to TOP